f Iowa Wesleyan University - SLIAC Announces Softball All-Conference Awards
News Photo
Softball - Fri, May 5, 2017
SLIAC Announces Softball All-Conference Awards

St. Charles, MO – May 5, 2017 – The Saint Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference has announced the 2017 Softball All-Conference Awards.  Winners are determined through voting by the head coaches in the league. This year, Iowa Wesleyan had three members receive Third Team All-Conference honors. Westminster College took home the four major individual awards, and Eureka College received the Team Sportsmanship Award. The All-Conference winners and All-Sportsmanship honorees were announced during the 2017 SLIAC Softball Championship Tournament.

Caitlin O'Neill (SR/Princeton, IA) was named Third Team All-Conference-Catcher.  O'Neill ended the season in the top five in several categories during conference play this season.  She was first in walks drawn (12), second in runners caught stealing (5), third in on base percentage (.552), and fourth in doubles (8). O'Neill led the Tigers with 110 at bats and 40 hits this season. She also had a team high, ten doubles on the year.

Samantha McIlwain (JR/Boone, IA) also received Third Team All-Conference honors. McIlwain pitched the second most innings for IW this season with a total of 96.2. She ended the season with a 7-9 record, starting 17 and throwing 13 complete games.  McIlwain led the conference in total strikeouts for the regular season with 109, and she recorded 56 in conference games which is third best in the SLIAC.  Her 7.54 strikeouts per game in conference was second best in the league.

Kassie Vazquez (SR/Ainsworth, IA) was the final Tiger to be named Third Team All-Conference.  Vazquez received the next most votes to earn At-Large All-Conference honors. She started all 36 games for the Tigers and was second on the team in at bats with 104.  Her 14 steals on the season was fifth best in the SLIAC. Six of her 14 steals came in conference play. 

Vazquez was also named to the SLIAC All-Sportsmanship Team. All-Sportsmanship selections are chosen by their coaches and teammates for best exhibiting good sportsmanship throughout the season.

To see the full list of All-Conference winners and All-Sportsmanship honorees, click here.